Reviews

Theatre Review: Cinderella at New Victoria Theatre, Woking

Director: Will Brenton

Starring: Justin Fletcher, Zoe Salmon, Hal Cruttenden, Liam Tamne, Dave Lynn, Jason Sutton, Zoe Curlett and Tim Hudson

Synopsis: A magical family show where Prince Charming meets his beautiful Princess with the help of Buttons and the Fairy Godmother.

1516-cinderella-053-(ZF-8388-41410-1-005)

Review by www.thehollywoodnews.com

This is an evening full of excitement and expectation. As you enter the auditorium, the high hopes of this young audience are tangible and high voices of children asking parents where’s the princess? who is the prince? when will it start? reach a crescendo; only becoming quieter when the voice of BBC’s Mr Tumble; otherwise know as Justin Fletcher, is heard announcing the start of the performance. The countdown to this much loved children’s fairytale begins.

Buttons effortlessly works the audience, carrying the younger members along with him as deals with the shouts out of ‘Justin’ and ‘Mr Tumble’ names by whom he is better known. The audience were fully involved with Buttons from the moment he walked on stage with their eager responses and ready laughter. Buttons worked brilliantly with the comical Prince Charming’s aide Dandini played by Hal Cruttenden who gave a memorable performance. Liam Tamne is a perfect Prince Charming who very ably sings and dances his way through successfully through the show, much to the delight the teenage girls who were sat nearby. Tim Hudson ably played Baron Hardup, but his role was probably not reflective of his talent.

The Ugly Sisters – Miley and Tulisa played by Dave Lynn and Jason Sutton respectively, are fabulously awful with innuendo, gross facial expressions and outlandish costumes. The sisters more than fulfilled all the expectations one has of pantomime dames. Their slapstick scene with Buttons and the ghost had the audience fully involved with their ‘Oh yes it is’ and ‘He’s behind yous.’

Zoe Salmon who was a presenter with Blue Peter, gave the perfect image as Cinderella, for she is as pretty as a princess with her long blonde hair and happy smile but sadly her lack of singing skills let her down. Cinderella’s outfits are transformed from rags to ball gowns by the excellent Fairy Godmother played by Zoe Curlett; whose outstanding voice effortlessly helps the show go on its festive way. She is without doubt the star of the show.

The most memorable scene of the show is Cinderella going to the Ball. The snow falling on to the sparking ice sleigh which was pulled along by white Shetland ponies were truly magical and evoked every child’s dream of fairyland and Christmas. This is the scene you remember as you leave the theatre.

This production is impressive but disappointingly technically less than professional as there were some microphone issues. The pantomime is just not quite polished enough to compete with the sparkle of Cinderella’s glass slipper but nevertheless it left me in the mood for a thoroughly enchanted Christmas.

 

Privates On Parade, Theatre Royal Brighton, until August 31, 23rd August 2013 in The Critic By Barrie Jerram

1231405_420642734711096_544158956_n

The cast of Privates On Parade. Photo by Sam Stephenson
Peter Nichols’s rip-roaring yet dark comedy, set in 1948, features an entertainment troupe touring South-East Asia, bringing light relief and a morale boost to the young soldiers still fighting there – think It Ain’t Half Hot Mum.

The play is based on Nichols’ own National Service experience entertaining the troops.

It stars Jason Sutton, shedding his famous alter-ego Miss Jason and emerging as camp, cross-dressing acting captain Terri Dennis. Sutton is excellent both as a “straight” actor and for his impersonations of Marlene Dietrich, Vera Lynn, Carmen Miranda and Noël Coward.

He receives excellent support from the rest of the cast, especially Eric Potts as Major Flack, who gives a masterclass in playing comedy.

There is also a fine performance from Samuel Holmes as he makes the transition from an idealistic virgin to selfish cad. He too excels in the comedy stakes – his droll performance with a pair of maracas is a scene stealer.

While the show is full of hilarity, there are moments of poignancy – a Flanagan and Allen number becomes a love duet between the two men.

Harveen Mann captures the wistfulness of the Anglo-Indian Sylvia who dreams of getting to England to see her Welsh Granny.

Review: Privates on Parade (Theatre Royal, Brighton, until Saturday, August 31)
by David Guest
Published on the
23 August 2013

Wicked humour and dark social commentary combine in Peter Nichols’ landmark play from 1977, Privates on Parade, being given a light dusting down as a late summer delight at the Theatre Royal, Brighton, until the end of the month.

The Theatre of War has seldom been so charming and naughty as the “play with songs in two acts” focuses on the larger than life members of the Song and Dance Unit South East Asia (SADUSEA), a military concert party based in Singapore and Malaysia in the late 1940s, entertaining the troops fighting the Chinese Communist soldiers.

With memories of the recent exquisite West End Michael Grandage production so fresh in the mind, it’s a daring company that attempts a new take on this period piece, but even with a few first night jitters there is every reason to consider this a very worthy version indeed.

The drama draws on Nichols’ own experiences and there are some rather fun pastiche songs by Denis King, with enough innuendo liberally sprinkled throughout to ensure that everyone keeps on carrying on up the jungle.

Normally the piece is a star vehicle for the performer playing the outrageous drag artist Terri Dennis, who is required to impersonate the likes of Marlene Dietrich, Carmen Miranda and Vera Lynn, and to deliver some wicked lines with glee. Here Jason Sutton (best known for his established drag act Miss Jason) plays the part flamboyantly well, but just misses out on discovering the character’s personal pain and heartache – it would be nice to see behind the theatrical facade.

It is great to see Samuel Holmes, almost a West End veteran, back at Brighton playing the naive Private Steven Flowers, who learns much about life as he joins the unit, falls in love (with the hard-done-by Eurasian Sylvia, played by Harveen Mann) and gains an education that no university could offer. His nemesis is the bigoted and brash sergeant major, played with fine texture by Tobey Nicholls, and there is perfect support from Richard Colvin as hard-bitten but tender-hearted Corporal Bonny, David Heywood as Lance Corporal Bishop, Izaak Cainer as stuffy aircraftman Young-Love, and Richard Hadfield as flight sergeant Cartwright.

Stealing the show is Eric Potts as Major Flack, who totters close to, but successfully avoids, absurdity in his role as the stiff upper lipped officer, oblivious to reality and with cringe-inducing old school jingoism. His delivery of the name of the Malaysian jungle area is enough to bring tears of laughter to the eyes at each mention. A versatile Potts also serves as musical director.

Director Carole Todd could do with tightening up the action here and there and sharpening up the pace considerably, and there are some niggles with the mobile set that need attention. At the moment it ain’t half tepid, mum – but there’s loads of potential in the production and it’s a sure bet that any creases will quickly be ironed out.

PRIVATES ON PARADE: Theatre Royal Brighton: Review 24/08/2013 By Kat Pope

Each performance here shines with the requisite brightness all revolving around the 100 watt bulb that is Miss Jason

Miss Jason aka Jason Sutton
In Peter Nichols’s 1977 review-style play with music, we follow the story of an incongruous group of men who entertain the soldiers, sailors and airman stationed overseas in Malaysia in 1948 during the Communist insurgency.

A motley bunch of naïfs and strays, the privates here on parade are mostly gay or ‘gay while abroad’, with the story revolving around the arrival of Private Flowers (Samuel Holmes), a straight man who’s come to join in the fun and games of SADUSEA – Song and Dance Unit South East Asia.

He’s soon taken under the wing of the troupe’s leader, the deliciously waspish female impersonator Terri, played here by Brighton’s own Jason Sutton – better known as Miss Jason – who embraces his part with utter relish and charm.

All swims along as well as it can in a war zone, until the porky Major Flack (Corrie’s erstwhile baker, Eric Potts) decides to set his flock up for a mighty big fall when he sends them into the jungles of the Peninsula ostensibly on a tour of duty, but he and an increasingly distant Flowers have something else planned for them entirely.

Along the way we meet the men who serve their National Service time by donning high heels, wigs, perfume and some very odd dresses all in the name of entertainment. There’s Len (Richard Colvin), a soft Geordie with a Tourettes-like need to swear every third word, and his Medical Corp boyfriend Charlie, who together do a very touching Flanagan and Allen tribute act. Then there’s the butch but slightly dim Kevin (Richard Hadfield), and the sensitive Eric played by promising newcomer Izaak Cainer, who pines for his Susan left at home, only to see his hopes dashed when she runs off to marry someone else.

The only woman in the piece is Sylvia (played by a confident Harveen Mann), the battered and bruised ‘half-caste’ concubine of the drunk Sergeant Major Drummond (Tobey Nicholls), a nasty piece of work who gets his comeuppance even before the end of the first act. She seeks solace with virgin Flowers, who’s only too happy to comfort her to begin with.

Privates is a piece that relies on strong ‘turns’, each character getting his or her time in the limelight, with a highlight of the piece being the revue show – Jungle Jamboree – that the troupe put on in the second half.

Each performance here shines with the requisite brightness, some more than others, all revolving around the 100 watt bulb that is Miss Jason.
He dominates with his camp innuendoes and hilarious impressions of Dietrich, Coward, Vera Lynn and, of course, half woman-half fruit, Carmen Miranda. But he also provides the heart of the piece – he’s the mummy figure, always there to pick up the pieces when things go wrong (and boy, do they go wrong).

His Brazilian turn is made all the funnier by Holmes as Flowers, deadpanning it beautifully by his side, looking mightily bored and shaking his maracas as if by numbers. The eye doesn’t quite know whether to watch his daft comedic performance, or Sutton’s colourful, cheery shimmying. Mine stayed firmly on Holmes but I never could resist a bit of silly hamming.

The biggest turn, in terms of size and booming voice, comes from Potts as the Major, a blustering colonial figure with a disquieting presence and an all too pragmatic approach to war.

His lines get the most laughs
(every time he almost sneezes the Malaya world for jungle – Ulu – he brings the house down), although they also bring the most chills.

This isn’t a play for the faint of heart. Slang words that aren’t used in polite (or even impolite) company these days abound, but see it as a period piece and you’ll be fine. The one thing that did jar was the use of the word ‘gay’ in the homosexual sense which I just couldn’t see being in common currency in the 1940′s even amongst gay men themselves.

Queerness itself is seen as a matter-of-fact way of life,
but don’t forget that this is a 1977 play looking back to the 40′s. I was also left wondering if this was in any way an accurate portrait of life in the British Army then, even in an outré ents division. Seeing as the play is based on the author’s own National Serivce experience, one can only conclude that it must go some way to being so.

There are some things that don’t quite hit the mark in Privates. The scenes of violence are played too quickly and too clumsily, thus not being given the weight they need to give the necessary seriousness to the piece. And it is a serious piece, despite its light and frothy exterior, exploring issues of colonialism, imperialism, racism, and the way soldiers lives can be seen as being so easily expendable. The script here gives us that, but the direction from Carole Todd doesn’t quite.

It’s also a bit slow to get going – the first half could be a bit snappier, the second half a bit more considered, but it’s a difficult judgement call.

Being rather sparse, the scenery does seem a bit skimpy until you think of the period and place being dealt with, and Damien Delaney’s choreography could have done with a little more zip and a little less clunkiness.

That said, Privates is a lovely little show with some nice, rounded performances
and some big, shouty ones too (I sat where the Major comes to sit in the audience to boom at the stage and realised just how much actors have to project their voices!) There’s also some nice arses on show, as well as some very big knickers and some teeny, tiny, barely-there ones, all belonging to the same person – I shall let you guess who!

QX MAGAZINE – March 2013
CONFESSIONS OF A DRAG QUEEN

Brimming with natural effervescence and a personality that could warm the coldest of hearts, Miss Jason has been camping it up for a remarkable seventeen years. This week she starts another Sunday residency at the North London cabaret hot-spot, Central Station. As the evening is entitled ‘Miss Jason’s Sunday Confessional’, Jason Reid saw this as the perfect opportunity to squeeze some juicy confessions out of the lady herself…

Tell us a little bit about what to expect from your new Sunday residency at Central Station…
Well, I’ll be ably assisted by my wonderful sound technician, Martin – one of the owners of Central Station – and we are going to deliver a big dollop of camp every Sunday night, through songs and banter. And I must say it’s refreshing to know I’m working with someone who is more likely to be pissed than I am, dear. It’s a wonderfully kitsch way to end your weekend.
Sounds like a right hoot. Right, are you ready to confess?
Ooooh, yes dear. I’m on my knees and ready to divulge.
When and where did you pop your drag cherry? Brighton. I was a guest of the legendary Phil Starr; seventeen years ago this August. I somehow managed to convince Phil that I had potential. He asked me to come and perform with him on the Wednesday night – forty eight hours later. I had no dress, wig, proper act or Starr christened me Miss Jason and it stuck. And you went from strength to strength. What’s the naughtiest thing you’ve ever done during a show?
I once performed an act of fellatio onstage, dressed as Mrs. Slocombe. As you do, dear. Who, on the cabaret scene, would you snog, marry and avoid?
I’d snog, marry AND avoid Lola Lasagne.
Whose posters did you have on your wall as a teenager?
I never had any posters on my wall as a teenager but my mum always said she knew
I was gay. [laughs] Especially so, because on my seventh birthday, she asked me what I’d like, and I said I wanted a chandelier for my bedroom – how camp, dear. And guess what, I got one!
What scares you?
The tax man – the bastard!
Which song makes you cry like a baby, and which song makes you smile from ear to ear?
The song that makes me cry is, ‘If I Never Sing Another Song’, when it’s performed by Maisie Trollette. The song that makes me smile from ear to ear is a song Tammy Twinkle sang for my birthday, last month in Thailand. It’s called ‘Sister Act’, but I’m not sure where it’s from. It’s beautiful.
Who, in the public eye, would you send to Room 101?
Oh, it’d have to be Richard Arnold from irritating, nauseating queen, who’s more full of himself than the people he’s interviewing. I couldn’t bear him on Strictly Come do-dah, either. However, she does own a couple of nice blouses.
Where is the oddest place you’ve done ‘the naughties’?
In the Rock Gardens, Portsmouth. I fell in
the pond and got covered in algae when the coppers were chasing me. I had to walk all the way home like it, too. And then there was that time at the A27 lay-by. I sorted out the driver because I didn’t have the money
to pay him. AND then there was the time on Hove Lawns with Robert Slack – the owner of The Caledonian, Brighton – I was trying to get a booking. [laughs]
If you could change one thing in your past, what would it be and why?
I’ve always said that what’s been behind me is there for a reason, dear. It’s best not to look over your shoulder.
If you could be one other drag queen for a day who would you be and why?
I’d be Lola Lasagne, because unlike her I’ve only ever managed to get angry twice in one day. [laughs]

QX MAGAZINE – 19/08/12
MAISIE’S BIRTHDAY
WORDS JASON REID, PHOTOS BY MARC ABE

Superlatives such as ‘legendary’, ‘iconic’ and ‘phenomenal’ are banded about with increased regularity these days, but in the case of some performers there are simply none that would do them, their talent, longevity and impact they’ve had
on their industry, justice. Maisie Trollette, who celebrated her birthday at the Two Brewers last Sunday, is one of those people.
One of the last ‘greats’ of drag
in many peoples eyes, Maisie
still packs out venues, delivering humorous retorts sandwiched within an untainted vocal prowess. For her ‘Big Birthday Show’ Maisie was joined by her ‘Two’s Company’ partner, Miss Jason, and it was
time to strike up the band with an accompanying live orchestra: The London Big Gay Band. And what a joy it was to listen to the pair sing some of their favourite numbers, such as: ‘If I Never Sing Another Love Song’, ‘I Could Have Danced All Night’ and ‘All of Me”, to name
just a few, that enthralled us, and the audience.
This, for us, was traditional drag duo, there is a wonderful sense
of admiration for each other that really shines through every song and exchange. Miss Jason is a rare breed, in the sense that she’s a natural comedian, which really cant be schooled. Visually and verbally hilarious, there should be a picture of Jason’s chipper face next to
the word ‘camp’ or ‘dear’ in the dictionary. Their infectious onstage chemistry was rewarded with rapturous applause and numerous standing ovations. After standing to sing ‘Happy Birthday’ to Maisie, upon presentation of the cake, the crowd joined in with a swinging encore and the celebrations ended with the birthday gal dancing with her fans and friends.
Happy Birthday, Dame Maisie, from all of us at QX Towers.

QX MAGAZINE – 17/03/12
CENTRAL STATION
WORDS BY LEE DALLOWAY PHOTOS BY JOEL-RYDER.COM

Not only is Central Station a joy to review because I live about a five minute walk away (ten if I’ve started on the shandy’s before leaving my yard) but because there genuinely is no other place like it on London’s gay scene. A veritable multi-floored wonder that encompasses everything from dinner to drag ‘n’ drinkin’ to… erm… dungeon diva shenanigans in the basement. This weekend’s review was focused on the ground floor for a very special occasion – owner Duncan’s 65th birthday. A stalwart of the venue, which is itself a stalwart of the area, having seen off almost all other local gay businesses and is one of the few remaining bastions of a King’s Cross that is being increasingly gentrified by dull hotels and trendy coffee shop chains. So, off I went to my local, armed with two heterosexual Central Station virgins. To salute Duncan, there truly is no-one finer than Miss Jason; truly old school, and I say that with a huge amount of positivity. She can command any room, fire out the jokes at 60 MPH (without being venomous) and knock back the shots without missing a beat or a witty line. She can also inadvertently smash glass all over the stage, but even cleans up her own mess whilst still delivering the zingers. Legend! Jason Prince provided the tuneage whilst Kelly Wilde belted out the ballads in her own inimitable style. The crowd was full of regulars, old friends and fresh faces, as an emotional Duncan took to the stage to give thanks not just for people showing up, but for how Central Station has been a huge part of his heart and the local community for a couple of decades now. A testament to this welcoming atmosphere, which almost always stems from the top down, was the grin on my hetero housemates faces on leaving the venue. Where else can they get chatted up by war veteran whilst guffawing at a cock in a frock and singing their hearts out to a power ballad? Not in an All Bar One that’s for sure. Happy Birthday Duncan – here’s to many more years.

 

Full of Peckham Promise
(Aladdin – Weston-Super-Mare 2011)

AS DEL-BOY would say, ‘he who dares Boycie…he who dares’ and as far as Pantomime baddies go actor John Challis is right up there in the list of winners for The Playhouse, in Weston. Its festive spectacular Aladdin combines a glittering cast of the funny and beautiful with an amazing array of over-the-top costumes and clever sets.
But it was the charismatic Only Fools and Horses and The Green Green Grass star who, despite parents having to explain to the younger generation who he is, immediately had the audience of cubs, scouts and beavers out of their seats booing and hissing at the tops of their voices, as the evil magician Abanazar.
The cast, including many seasoned panto performers, had an easier task than usual with an already warmed up audience of groups of children who had been happily chatting in their packs before the show.
Nevertheless comedy double act Simmons and Simmons shone as the glue which held the show together, with their hilarious routines as policemen Sgt Me and PC You.
One of the funniest scenes involved people with equally silly names like Why, What and I Don’t Know, which reduced even grown men to tears of laughter.
And veteran cross-dresser Jason Sutton delivered soap-sud silliness as the dame Widow Twankey, with each scene’s costume change more outrageous than the last.
But Aladdin’s twin brother Wishee Washee, played by Terry Gleed, was the children’s favourite, engaging them with a slightly camp audience participation repartee including various sized fishes and a limp Mexican wave.
Cute Hollyoaks actor Craig Daniel Adams in the title role and the gorgeous Cat Sandion from CITV’s Hi-5 as Princess Jasmine, both gave excellent performances and played out a convincing love story.
Royal Opera star Paul Arden-Griffiths also stood out as Emperor Chop Suey giving magnificent renditions of well-known opera songs as well as the obligatory Go Compare advert.
A back up cast of energetic dancers including little ones from the town’s Tina Counsell School of Dance and Drama brought the stage alive, as did the blinding special effects.
The Paul Holman Associates production yet again provided everything it says on the tin – slap-stick humour, topical jokes, local references, pop songs and innuendo were all there, oh yes, they were.
All in all, a veritable feast of warmth and laughter, full of Eastern promise, which got everyone in the mood for Christmas.

 

Doesn’t Disappoint!
(Jack and the Beanstalk, Redhill 2010)

Reviewed by Graham Gurrin, The Stage – 16 December 2010 It’s a welcome change for top billing to go to a variety act rather than someone from the music charts or children’s TV, and Paul Daniels (King Crumble) doesn’t disappoint. From the vantage point of his laid-back performance, he watches over the cast like a father figure. Debbie McGee (Fairy Organic) not only delivers the rhyming couplets, but also gets to marry the king, a break with tradition we can forgive. Allan Jay (Jack) has a fine voice, complemented perfectly by Sophie Wilkins as Princess Amelia. Tony Rudd (Simple Simon) whips the Redhill audience into a frenzy with every entrance and does some excellent impressions. In his first family pantomime, Jason Sutton is great fun as Dame Trott. From a decade on the cabaret circuit, he brings costumes, a singing voice and stage presence to die for, and he judges the tone perfectly. We need more actors like him to keep the traditional dame alive. Credit must also go to Matthew Ashforde, not only for winding the audience up with relish as Fleshcreep, but also as the director. One quibble – the half-hearted custard pie that ends the kitchen scene is not slapstick enough. But that’s a minor flaw. Complete with an excellent, giant and beautifully choreographed pantomime cow, traditional panto is safe in these hands Miss jason would like to thank everyone involved in Jack and the Beanstalk at Redhill

 

For photos from Jack and the Beanstalk, click here!

An old feature from 3SIXTY magazine

December 2008

Climbing the majestic staircase in Miss Jason’s mansion block in Hove one gets a sense of intrigue and anticipation about what one will be confronted with when one reaches the top floor and Miss Jason’s apartment. Confused and dizzy by the swirling steps, at last the summit is in sight and the familiar sound of Miss Jason’s booming but camp “Hello Dear, just one more flight” echoes down the corridor. But it’s not Miss Jason who immediately greets you at the threshold of the doorway – no – it’s the legendary Maisie Trollette, staring expectantly out from a large gold frame and keeping guard on the treasures that lie ahead in Miss Jason’s love nest. “Ooh welcome to my home dear,” shrieks Miss Jason, as we’re ushered into a fine reception room warmed by a roaring fire and ‘Flamenco’ red walls. “Did you see the Maisie Trollette? She’s there as she’s been a huge influence on me, and inspiration, and a great friend.” Stepping into Miss Jason’s living room is like stepping into a little piece of Thailand. He’s spent a lot of time over there in the last few years, and has amassed an impressive collection of Far East-styled nic-nacs (his favourite being an Indonesian model of Garuda, the bird-like creature that appears in both Hindu and Buddhist mythology, that brings “protection, health, wealth and happiness”). We’re here today to talk about Miss Jason’s new show, called An Audience With… Miss Jason. “I’m so excited about the show,” he enthuses. “It was actually all [fellow drag artiste and friend] Davina Sparkle’s idea. I’m one of those unfortunate queens that things happen to, so I’ve got lots of stories and I love to talk about them. This is a great opportunity to tell them to an audience in a relaxed and more structured environment. I’m looking forward to have my say.” Miss Jason, like his cat who seems to listen to every word during the interview, has had many lives, including one in the wonderful world of politics: 18 months working for Baroness Nicholson in the House of Lords and a spell with liberal democrat politician Mark Oaten MP (who was discovered using male prostitutes and exposed by the News of the World in 2006). He joined the Labour party at just 14-years-old, but secretly always wanted to be a drag queen. “My first drag show was at the Queen’s Arms in Brighton, about ten years ago – Phil Starr used to do the Old Vic in Portsmouth and I used to watch and think ‘I want to do that’. I had become exhausted by politics and was eager to try something new. I talked to Phil about it and he said “if you’ve got a show come up to the Queen’s Arms on Wednesday”. I didn’t have a show or anything – not even a pair of tights. I was terrified. I had no idea what I was doing, to be honest. On the first show, I forgot all the words. It was mayhem. Then the landlord of the Queen’s Arms, Andy Feest, gave me a booking. I was shocked! When I turned up this time, I was completely prepared. Andy Feest said, ‘what’s happened? This isn’t your show’ and asked me never to learn the words again.” Anyone who has seen Miss Jason’s show will know that the genius of it is the ongoing storytelling and the fact that there seems to be completely devoid of structure or direction. “It’s the mayhem that I like best – if I don’t know what’s happening next, then I get excited. All my stories start with an element of truth. I do exaggerate sometimes and get carried away!” But it’s not about the laughs. “There is going to be a serious side to An Audience With Miss Jason as well. To be honest with you, I went round the twist when I was in Bournemouth, where I lived before moving to Hove. I had a psychiatric nurse for a year and a half. I had a big problem with drugs and booze. So I want to talk about that and recognise that people do have these problems. “Then there’s the fundraising for the orphanage in work with in Thailand. I’ve visited orphanages where the kids weren’t in the best conditions and so we try and help out as much as possible. This particular orphanage is funded only by Thais for Life, which is a group of British gay businessmen. Seeing what money can do there is amazing. We’ve taken more than £6,000 over the last three months, though fundraising at venues like the Queen’s Arms. So the show a good mix of fun, stories and good causes. I look forward to seeing you all there!

Central Station – Saturday 21st may 2011
Boys Magazine

May 2011

Last weekend, two of Britain’s national cabaret treasures, Miss jason and Maisie Trollette, took to the stage at Central Station as the wonderful duo, Two’s Company.

Singling some of our favourite songs of all time, the duo lit up the stage. maisie in particular had a wonderfully subtle make-up palette that showed off her tan beautifully, and together she and Miss Jason proved that they’re an act that’s almost impossible to beat.

We spoke to the classy and amazing Miss Jason as she worked on a new water feature in her garden. She told us, “We both enjoy performing at Central Station seperetly. They’ve been trying to get us together for ages, so it was fab to finally get together.”

Miss Jason also revealed why she loves working with La Trollette. She told us, “Maisie has always been my inspiration. For me to work with her in Two’s Company is just a wonderful thing. We don’t make much money together, but I do save on the carer’s allowance. We’ll be together again in London at the Clapham Street Party, which we’re both looking forward to. It’s our annual outing for the elderly ladies.”

Miss Jason QX Magazine Interview

July 2011

Miss Jason QX Interview

QX: What have you been up to since we last spoke two years ago?

Time sure flies! Miss Jason: I’ve been very busy on the cabaret scene; I’m very lucky to have been all over the country. A large part of my life as always has and does revolve around booze and kebabs! Last Christmas I was lucky to have been in my first family pantomime, playing Dame Trott in Jack and the beanstalk, playing alongside Mr Paul Daniels and the lovely Debbie McGee! High camp all round dear!

Fab! Last time we also spoke about the charity you worked with, Thai’s For Life (which assists with medical care and special needs in Thailand). How’s that going?

It’s all going very well, and I want to say a big thank you to all the venues that have raised money for us. The thing is, as kids grow the more they eat! The good news is one or two of them are old enough to handle needles, so expect some pretty stunning frocks this year! But on a serious note, the Thai’s for life charity always needs donations along with the Bang Jing Jai orphanage – we have a constant flow of children needing help and support.

You’ll be hosting the outdoor stage at West 5’s birthday bash this year. What can we expect from the day?

The highest camp, with good weather, a wonderful afternoon in the garden and a plethoria of wonderful acts bringing you the cream of the nation’s cabaret artists.

It’s certainly a glitter-filled line-up. Who are you most looking forward to seeing perform on the day?

I’m looking forward to working with my dear old sister Maisie Trollette; she don’t get out much these days! And all work does help with the career’s allowance. Also, All Mouth and No Trousers, who will be kicking up some high legs and showtunes!

You work with the lovely Maisie Trolette in Two’s Company. Can you tell us a funny story from your time together?

I have to say I adore working with David, he has always been an inspiration to me, even if on stage I do get a bit nervous, as I never know what I’m gonna do, say and wear! And she may be a few years older than me, but she still wears me out!

Did you catch any of this year’s Drag Idol? There’s a lot of great new talent coming through, has anyone in particular caught your eye?

I thought the standard was high this year. The acts that caught my eye and heart were The Oreos – lovely boys, dear! I have to say that Son of a Tutu, the final winner, is bloody cracking. I’d love to see her on stage with Sandra some time, now that would be camp!

What’s next for Miss Jason?

A cuppa tea and a slice of carrot cake… oh you mean not now! Apart from the cabaret work, which I adore, seeing all the lovely boys and odd girl dotted around the country. We are in the planning stages of a Miss Jason spectacular with some ‘C-list’ celebs and glitter cannons! Plus, Christmas this year I’m off to Weston-Super-Mare to play Widow Twanky in Aladdin at the Playhouse, with Boycie from Only Fools and Horses.